Research @ SSU
If you're just getting started looking for government information, you can start with the Popular Resources. You might also find what you're looking for in our catalog. Please note that if you're looking for something in our collection, while all government documents are given a SuDoc number, we do not catalogue based on the SuDoc number; all of our materials, government documents included, are interfiled.
Health Care Law
Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act
Access the authenic, digital version of the law on GPO's Federal Digital System. You can learn about open enrollment for health insurance marketplaces that begins on October 1, 2013 and the bulk of provisions that go into effect on January 1, 2014 including consumer protections, tax credits, and the individual mandate.
Link to Affordable Care Act on FDsys:
Veterans History Project
"The Veterans History Project of the American Folklife Center collects, preserves, and makes accessible the personal accounts of American war veterans so that future generations may hear directly from veterans and better understand the realities of war."
YOU CAN VOLUNTEER
This project relies upon volunteers to record the remeberances of veteran's using the provided guidelines.
There is no deadline for participation. The Project is ongoing and continues to be supported by Congress.
For further information visit:
From: State Library of Ohio
"Keeping America Informed:Celebrating 150 Years of the U.S. Government Printing Office
World War II Posters
During World War II the U.S. Government Printing Office printed posters created by various offices, agencies, branches, and bureaus of the United States. The posters were meant to gain support for the war, encourage sacrifice, inspire patriotism, recruit, and unite the country.
The collection of World War II posters on display at the State Library of Ohio was donated to the State Library by Lt. Richard Fisher, an Army Intelligence Officer. He worked at the State Library as a documents librarian prior to entering the service."
Visit these links to view War posters:
- American Legion Library
- Colorado College: Tutt Special Collections - World War I Posters
- Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Library, San Jose State University - World War I & II Posters
- Enoch Pratt Free Library, Special Collections Department
- Harry S. Truman Library & Museum
- Library of Congress: Prints & Photographs Online Catalog Collections: World War I Posters
- National Archives: Powers of Persuasion: Poster Art from World War II
- National Museum of American History: Produce for Victory: Posters on the American Home Front (1941-1945)
- Northwestern University Government and Geographic Information and Data Services Department - World War II Poster Collection
- Public Library of Cincinnati and Hamilton County - Virtual Library: U.S. Produced WWII Posters
- San Antonio Public Library Collection - The Winds and Words of War: Posters and Prints
- University of Maine - Fogler Library and the Bangor Public Library
- University of Minnesota - Digital Library Services "A Summons to Comradship": World War I & II Posters
- University of Washington Libraries: War Poster Collection
- West Texas A&M University:The Art of War
"Ben's Guide to U.S. Government for Kids is brought to the World Wide Web as a service of the Superintendent of Documents, U.S. Government Printing Office (GPO). Ben's Guide serves as the educational component of GPO Access, GPO's service to provide the official online version of legislative and regulatory information.
This site provides learning tools for K-12 students, parents, and teachers. These resources will teach how our government works, the use of the primary source materials of GPO Access, and how one can use GPO Access to carry out their civic responsibilities. And, just as GPO Access provides locator services to the U.S. Government sites, Ben's Guide provides a similar service to U.S. Government Web sites developed for kids."