This is the "Help" page of the "Help" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Help from SSU and OhioLINK Librarians and Library Staff
Last Updated: May 21, 2014 URL: http://shawneesu.libguides.com/help Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Help Print Page
  Search: 
 

Ask a Question

 

Ask Us!

Text A LibrarianText: 740-498-1965

Phone: 740-351-3255

Email: library@shawnee.edu

 

We're Here for You!

Help, the way you want it:

  • Get one-on-one face-to-face assistance during all the hours the library is open
  • Phone us at 740-351-3255
  • Text us at 740-498-1965.
  • Email us at library@shawnee.edu

 

Reference Assistance

Reference librarians provide directions, answer questions, locate materials, assist with electronic resources, and help with interlibrary loan requests. Reference librarians are on duty from 9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. Monday through Thursday and 9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. Friday.   Ask for Reference assistance at Service Center at the main entrance on the main floor of the Clark Memorial Library. 

Research Consultation

Librarians at Clark Memorial Library offer research consultation by appointment to SSU faculty, staff, and students. Research consultation provides an opportunity for the researcher to meet for an extended period of time, usually an hour, with a librarian in a private, uninterrupted session.

During the research consultation the librarian may assist the researcher in formulating a search strategy, identifying specific resources which contain pertinent information, or using electronic resources.

A faculty or staff member who needs assistance in accessing resources from the office may request that the consultation be held in his/her office.

Contact the  librarian of your choice to schedule an appointment.

 

Library Liaisons

Library Liaisons

Each academic department has a librarian assigned as the department's library liaison.

The library liaison works with the department in selecting and ordering library resources that will meet the research needs of SSU students. The liaison also provides information about new resources, performs librarian-mediated database searching, produces tailored library research guides appropriate to research on particular topics, offers research consultations, presents customized library instruction for departments or for classes, and creates documentation necessary for accreditation reviews.  A list of liaisons by department follows:

  • English & Humanities
  • Natural Sciences
  • Rehabilitation/Sport Professions
  • Teacher Education

Mary Cummings

mcummings@shawnee.edu

  • Social Sciences
  • Nursing
  • Allied Health Sciences

Suzanne Johnson Varney

svarney@shawnee.edu

  • University College

Rebekah Kilzer

rkilzer@shawnee.edu

  • Business Administration
  • Economics
  • Mathematics

Katy Mathuews

kmathuews@shawnee.edu

  • Engineering Technologies
  • Fine, Digital, and Performing Arts

Janet Stewart

jstewart@shawnee.edu
 

Meet the Library Staff

Departments & Service Counters

Public Services
Circulation

Reference
Curriculum Materials Center
Interlibrary Loan

Student Employment
Systems Office
Technical Services

Staff Directory

Jacqui Allen, Library Specialist II; Acquisitions
jallen@shawnee.edu
740.351.3453

Jim Bayes, Library Specialist I; Serials & Public Service
jbayes@shawnee.edu
740.351.3214 or 740.351.3513

Tess Collier, Library Specialist II; Resource Sharing
tcollier@shawnee.edu
740.351.3519 or 740.351.3355

Mary Cummings, Reference Librarian
mcummings@shawnee.edu
740.351.3461

Cathy Fitch, Library Specialist I; Public Services
cfitch@shawnee.edu
740.351.3519

Brittany Hablitzel, Secretary
bhablitzel@shawnee.edu
740.351.3323

Rebekah Kilzer, Director
rkilzer@shawnee.edu
740.351.3267

Katy Mathuews, Access Services Librarian
kmathuews@shawnee.edu
740.351.3492

Suzanne Johnson-Varney, Technical Services Librarian
svarney@shawnee.edu
740.351.3410

Susan Smith, Library Specialist (Part-time); Public Services
ssmith3@shawnee.edu
740.351.3519

Janet Stewart,  Systems Librarian
jstewart@shawnee.edu
740.351.3197

Josh Teeters, Library Systems Support Specialist
jteeters@shawnee.edu
740.351.3353

Elisha Wells, Library Specialist II, Cataloging
ewells@shawnee.edu
740.351.3438

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip