The Clark Memorial Library has access to several primary sources within the archive. To use the archive talk to a librarian at the reference desk from 8 am to 7 pm Monday through Tuesday and 8 am to 5 pm on Friday. The collections can be subdivided into the following areas:
Digital Commons: The library has started a digital repository for the University and community partners. Check it out here https://digitalcommons.shawnee.edu/
Local History: Theses are books and newspapers, come over a 100 years old, about Scioto county and the Portsmouth.
Historical Campus Sources: These materials include Shawnee State University documents back to the early 1980's, School Newspapers back to the 1960's and other historical artifacts. Some of the artifacts are banners from school events and the limited editions Shawnee State Pepsi Can.
Materials from Professors: Over the years the library has collected from professors books they published, documents they left and manuscripts, including some from Robert Wilson.
Riffe Archive: Is a permanently on display collection that features documents, photos and memorabilia about and belonging to Vern Riffe. It is housed on the second level of the Vern Riffe Center for the Arts.
The Portsmouth Public Library has a collection on local materials including historic photographs, cemetery inscriptions and the Portsmouth Daily Times back to 1858. The local history department has records on microfilm relating to genealogy including, but not limited to, wills, death certificates, marriage licenses and naturalization documents.
Phone: (740) 354-5304
The Southern Ohio Museum is located at 825 Gallia Street Portsmouth. This museum has a collection of primary source material. At the present time digital versions of the Clark Ackerman photos are openly available to patrons. For access to the original photos approval is needed from the curator and the director of the museum. Approval to view to other materials in the archives, such as diaries and other artifacts, can be arranged after applying for permission to the curator and director.
Phone: (740) 354-5629
