Ask a Question
Comments (0)
Ask Us!
Welcome to the Clark Memorial Library Research Strategies Tutorial
This site has been developed to help you get the most out of your library research. Clark Memorial Library can provide a wealth of information in both hard copy and online electronic resources. Almost all of our electronic resources are available from home.
An outline of the contents of each section is included below. Although you may skip to any particular webpage whenever you want, you may find it most helpful to review the pages in the order presented.
Tutorial Contents
- The Library
- Map
- Website
- Library Hours
- Help, Amenities, and Electonic Hardware
- Help
- Amenities
- Electronic Resources
- Checking Out at SSU and Borrowing OhioLINK Materials
- Checking Out Materials
- Borrowing from Other OhioLINK Libraries
- Departments and Service Counters -- Meet the Library Staff
- Library Floor Plans
- Search Strategy
- Topic, Keywords, and Subject Headings
- Scholarly?
- Literature appropriate for college-level research
- Literature Spectrum
- General vs. Scholarly Resources
- Scholarly and Professional Literature
- On the Web?
- On the Web?
- Literature appropriate for college-level research
- The Web
- Articles on the Web
- Books and Other Documents
- Invisible Web
- Search Engines
- Primary & Secondary
- An Example of a Secondary Source
- An Example of a Primary Source
- Reference Resources
- Online Reference
- Collections of Reference Resources
- Biographical resources
- Encyclopedias, dictionaries, and thesauri
- Legislative and Public Policy Information (topics of current interest
- Audio, video, and graphic archives
- Directories
- Catalogs
- Library Catalogs
- Finding Cataloged Information
- Video Guides to Using a Library Catalog
- Your Library Account
- Searching the Catalog
- Results List from a "Word" Search
- Browse Screens from Author or Subject Searches
- Now that I've Found It, Where Do I Find It?
- Location, Call Number, and Status
- The Catalog Record and Table of Contents
- Additional Information in the Cover Art
- CiteMe -- APA & MLA Citations for Items in the SSU Library Catalog
- Searching by Subject
- OhioLINK and Other Catalogs
- Articles
- Articles in Periodicals
- Finding Articles Online
- For Articles that Are Not Online
- General/Popular, Substantive, and Trade Publications
- Articles in Popular/General and Substantive Periodicals
- Articles in Trade Periodicals
- Journal Articles
- Articles in Academic/Scholarly Journals
- Hallmarks of the Journal Article
- Types of Professional and Scholarly Articles
- Types of Periodicals
- Peer Reviewed, Refereed, Juried?
- How to Use Ulrich's to Verify that an Article is Peer Reviewed
- E-Journal Finder
- Using the E-Journal Finder
- Finding the Periodical Title in a Citation
- Database Overview
- Research Databases - General Overview
- What's to Know about Research Databases?
- Database Choices
- Choosing a Database
- For Articles and Transcripts, Start Here
- For Art Images, Music, Photographs, and Video, Start Here
- For Scholarly and Professional Literature, Start Here
- Search Queries
- Beginning the Search
- Search Queries
- Truncation and Wildcards
- Using the Asterisk (*)
- Wildcards
- Boolean Operators and Other Connectors
- Connectors
- AND
- OR
- NOT
- Database Results
- The Results List
- Record Elements
- Deciphering the Brief Record
- Refining and Narrowing by Searching within Results
- Refining Search Results
- Search within Results
- Sorting Options
- Online Articles, OLinks, and Interlibrary Loan
- Online Articles
- Find It with OLinks
- OLinks to Library Holdings
- Interlibrary Loan
- APA and MLA Citations
- Subject-Specific Databases & Advanced Search Options
- Using Advanced Search Screens
- Using Subject Links
- Pre-Limits
- Post-Limits
- Limiting by Search Field
- Thesaurus-Driven Databases
- Why a Thesaurus?
- Using the Thesaurus in EBSCO Databases
- Selecting a Subject from the Thesaurus
- Thesaurus Tree View
- Initiating a Search for a Subject
- Quick Search
- Quick Search @ OhioLINK
- Searching Multiple Databases Simultaneously
- Evaluation
- Critical Evaluation
- Consider the source
- Length
- Elements of evaluation
- Accuracy
- Authority
- Objectivity
- Currency
- Coverage
- Checking Reviews
- About the Author
- About the Author
- Library of Congress Classification System
- Plagiarism and Citing Sources
- Common Knowledge
- Plagiarism Policy
- Citing Sources
- Citation Styles: APA & MLA
- Citation Software
- Links to NoodleBib and EndNote Web
- Finding APA & MLA Citations in EBSCO Databases
- Finding APA & MLA Citations Using Find It/OLinks
- CiteMe -- APA & MLA Citations for Items in the SSU Library Catalog
- NoodleBib and EndNote Web
- Citation Software
- Links to NoodleBib and EndNote Web
-

Loading...
