Identifying a career path you want to pursue can be an overwhelming process. Arming yourself with plenty of information about possible careers can help you make an educated choice.
Several library resources are available to assist you. If you have questions about where to find these resources, contact any library staff member.
The Career Books section is located on the main floor of the library, on the right below the "gaming controller" bulletin board. Here are just a few books that are a part of our collection.
Best Jobs for the 21st Century by 
Compassionate Careers by
Many young people today are seeking something more--purpose, meaning, a cause. Compassionate Careers is filled with examples of people who have meaningful jobs in cause-focused organizations. These stories capture their spirit, intelligence, imagination, and heart. The book is an inspirational guide to finding purpose-driven work and offers advice to anyone who feels that sitting on the sidelines is just not enough. It includes: Stories from people of all walks of life who have jobs that make a difference, including Bill Clinton, Jane Goodall, and Dave Matthews. Information on how to get started in a cause-focused career. An online assessment that identifies the type of organizational culture for which you are best suited. Exercises and resources for hands-on exploration of compassionate career opportunities. An old Yaqui Indian proverb reads, "If you have a choice of paths to take in life, take the path with a heart." Compassionate Careers will show you how.
Do What You Are : Discover the Perfect Career for You through the Secrets of Personality Type by 
What Color Is Your Parachute? for Teens, Third Edition by
This updated career guide for teens draws on the principles of What Color Is Your Parachute? to help high school and college students zero in on their favorite skills and find their perfect major or career. What Color Is Your Parachute? for Teens distills the time-tested advice of career development guru Richard N. Bolles into a friendly, approachable guide for students just starting on the road to college and career. Authored by teen specialist Carol Christen, this book helps students discover their interests and passions early, so they can identify their dreams and decide what additional schooling--and tuition debt--makes sense for their chosen field. With fresh updates on social media and the specific challenges of today's job-market, this new edition has all the wisdom teens (and their parents) need to build their futures and nurture who they want to be.
Some books in the collection help you take an subject interest you may have and see what careers may allow you to use those interests. Here are just a few examples. Note that two are e-books.
101 Careers in Counseling, Second Edition by
Praise for the First Edition: "This excellent career guide will be valuable for students, young professionals, and those interested in a second career in counseling."--Choice Fully updated, the second edition of this comprehensive, easy-to-use guide explores the wealth of diverse career opportunities in both traditional and non-traditional counseling settings. It provides up-to-date information on occupational outlooks, best and most challenging aspects of each job, and profiles of real-life counselors that provide insight into the core of the profession. Each career is consistently formatted to include an overview of the profession, salary range, employment prospects, and educational and licensing requirements. The book also examines the pros and cons of different types of educational programs including online curricula. Additionally, this resource provides guidance for financing your education and the job search process. Helpful checklists and questionnaires for current counseling professionals who seek a change, those in graduate programs, and those new to the profession, help readers to make well-informed choices. New to the Second Edition: Completely updated to reflect significant changes in the fieldNew Bureau of Labor occupational outlookUpdated and expanded coverage of educational requirements, licensure, and continuing educationHighlights new and emerging careersSpecial focus on careers in mindfulness practice, trauma counseling, international counseling, art therapy, and in-hospital and in-patient settingsNew profiles of real-life counselorsEnhanced coverage of social media, networking sites, and search engines Key Features: Includes helpful career development tools such as checklists and questionnaires, job-hunting websites, networking tips, and moreProvides salary range, employment prospects, and best and worst aspects of each jobOffers guidance on educational requirement, licensure, and continuing education
The AIGA Guide to Careers in Graphic and Communication Design by
What graphic design is, what designers need to know, and who becomes a designer have all evolved as the computer went from being a tool to also becoming our primary medium for communication. How jobs are advertised and how prospective candidates communicate with prospective employers have changed as well, as has the culture and context for many workplaces, requiring new approaches for how to find your first (and last) position. Through clear prose, a broad survey of contexts where designers find themselves in the present day, and interviews with designers, The AIGA Guide to Careers in Graphic and Communication Design is an invaluable resource for finding your place in this quickly changing and growing field. The book includes interviews with over 40 designers at all levels working in-house and out-of-house in studios, consultancies, or alone, including: Nicholas Blechman, The New Yorker; Rob Giampietro, Google; Njoki Gitahi, IDEO; Hilary Greenbaum, Whitney Museum; Holly Gressley, Vox Media; Cemre Güngör, Facebook; Natasha Jen, Pentagram; Renda Morton, The New York Times; and Alisa Wolfson, Leo Burnett Worldwide.
Careers in International Affairs by 
Careers in Law : A Guide for Students, Graduates and Professionals by
This book addresses the difficult decisions in the life of law students, graduates and young law professionals in deciding the area of legal practice to pursue as a career. The number of legal fields and subfields is over one hundred, making it virtually impossible for an upcoming lawyer to explore all of these career avenues. Many students finish law school with little understanding of what specific law careers involve, for example, or what sports or space lawyers routinely do. This book highlights the time-consuming nature of law education and training that causes a lack of experience in legal fields as being able to successfully determine the right legal profession for the student. Finding a law career that is a significant source of satisfaction is a function of serious thinking and active research, which the current university to legal practice does not facilitate. This book is a practical guide for any student or current lawyer who is deciding and evaluating their future legal profession
