Research Guides: Criminal Justice: Find Books

Book Locations

E-books

Clark Memorial Library provides access to numerous e-books. As with our other databases, you have access to these collections off campus through single sign-on.

See the following collections in which you may find useful books.

Electronic Book Center This link opens in a new window
Contains the full texts of thousands of scholarly and reference e-books from several publishers, covering many subject areas in the humanities, sciences, and social sciences.
Electronic Book Center
Oxford Academic This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database containing over 500 peer-reviewed journals and 50,000 academic books published by Oxford University Press and other respected academic publishers. Browse the journals and books, and search within Oxford Academics full collection of books and journals.

Selected E-books

The Handbook of Criminological Theory by Alex R. Piquero
ISBN: 9781118512449
Publication Date: 2015-08-29
An indispensable resource for all levels, this handbook provides up-to-date, in-depth summaries of the most important theories in criminology. Provides original, cutting-edge, and in-depth summaries of the most important theories in criminology Covers the origins and assumptions behind each theory, explores current debates and research, points out knowledge gaps, and offers directions for future research Encompasses theory, research, policy, and practice, with recommendations for further reading at the end of each essay Features discussions of broad issues and topics related to the field, such as the correlates of crime, testing theory, policy, and prediction Clearly and accessibly written by leading scholars in the field as well as up-and-coming scholars
The Handbook of Deviance by Erich Goode (Editor)
ISBN: 9781118701386
Publication Date: 2015-07-24
The Handbook of Deviance is a definitive reference for professionals, researchers, and students that provides a comprehensive and engaging introduction to the sociology of deviance. Composed of over 30 essays written by an international array of scholars and meticulously edited by one of the best known authorities on the study of deviance Features chapters on cutting-edge topics, such as terrorism and environmental degradation as forms of deviance Each chapter includes a critical review of what is known about the topic, the current status of the topic, and insights about the future of the topic Covers recent theoretical innovations in the field, including the distinction between positivist and constructionist perspectives on deviance, and the incorporation of physical appearance as a form of deviance
The Cambridge Handbook of Forensic Psychology by Miranda A. H. Horvath (Editor); Jennifer M. Brown (Editor)
ISBN: 9781108848916
Publication Date: 2021-12-02
In the decade since the publication of the first edition of The Cambridge Handbook of Forensic Psychology, the field has expanded into areas such as social work and education, while maintaining the interest of criminal justice researchers and policy makers. This new edition provides cutting-edge and comprehensive coverage of the key theoretical perspectives, assessment methods, and interventions in forensic psychology. The chapters address substantive topics such as acquisitive crime, domestic violence, mass murder, and sexual violence, while also exploring emerging areas of research such as the expansion of cybercrime, particularly child sexual exploitation, as well as aspects of terrorism and radicalisation. Reflecting the global reach of forensic psychology and its wide range of perspectives, the international team of contributors emphasise diversity and cross-reference between adults, adolescents, and children to deliver a contemporary picture of the discipline.
The Handbook of Juvenile Delinquency and Juvenile Justice by Marvin D. Krohn (Editor); Jodi Lane (Editor)
ISBN: 9781118513217
Publication Date: 2015-05-01
This handbook is an up-to-date examination of advances in the fields of juvenile delinquency and juvenile justice that includes interdisciplinary perspectives from leading scholars and practitioners. Examines advances in the fields of juvenile delinquency and juvenile justice with interdisciplinary perspectives from leading scholars and practitioners Provides a current state of both fields, while also assessing where they have been and defining where they should go in years to come Addresses developments in theory, research, and policy, as well as cultural changes and legal shifts Contains summaries of juvenile justice trends from around the world, including the US, the Netherlands, Brazil, Russia, India, South Africa, and China Covers central issues in the scholarly literature, such as social learning theories, opportunity theories, criminal processing, labeling and deterrence, gangs and crime, community-based sanctions and reentry, victimization, and fear of crime

Print Books

If you would like to browse our print collection, the following information will help you identify the locations.

The call numbers for books related to Criminal Justice and Criminology range from HV6001-HV9960.

The call numbers for books related to Law begin wtih "K."

You may find books in other disciplines that also relate to topics in Criminal Justice, including:

Sociology and related fields -- HM-HT
Psychology -- BF
Education -- L

As you learn about aspects of Criminal Justice, you may find it useful to identify the related discipline and consult the research guide created for that subject area.

Most circulating books are located on the 3rd (top) floor. Reference books can be found on the 2nd (Main) floor.

You can search for print books, e-books and other resources in the SSU Library Catalog or the OhioLINK Catalog.