Discovery Service can be a great place to start looking for sources!
"Google like" search of most of the databases and resources the library has access to.This is also accessible as the default search box on the library’s homepage.
Full text journals, magazines, newspapers, reports, and other sources related to Caribbean countries and their populations. Includes country economic reports and biographies.
Covers scholarly journals published in central and eastern European countries.Contains predominantly scholarly journals published in central and eastern European countries. While some articles are in non-English languages, the majority are in English. Most articles are available full-text.
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. Indexing of more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.
Note: Historical Abstracts does NOT cover United States and Canada. See America: History & Life for this coverage.
Index of research and policy on the countries and people of the Middle East, Central Asia, and North Africa. Subjects include cultural heritage, economic affairs, archaeology, and society and social welfare.
From prehistory to the present, this database covers history and culture of the United States and Canada. Researchers can limit their search by certain time periods. Many items available full-text.
Covers all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life. This database contains citations for books, essays, journal articles, and government documents of the United States and Canada. This resource covers a wide range of topics including archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy. Dates of coverage for included content ranging from the 16th century to the present.
Multidisciplinary database with scholarly journals and primary sources such as serials and documents. Coverage from date of publication through about three to five years ago. Access to images is also provided which is especially helpful for students taking art and art history courses.
NOTE: Shawnee State University does not have full access to JSTOR. Limit by “Content I can access” in the left sidebar of the result list to see freely available sources.
Multidisciplinary citation index with a collection of over 21,000 peer-reviewed scholarly journals. Allows citation searching. This includes discovery of how many times a particular author or article has been cited and by whom. Users can also find later works which cite a specific article, allowing tracing the development of a research path.
Combines Women’s Studies International and Men’s Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses and dissertations, and other sources. Several thousand links to freely available and indexed full-text articles and documents on the Web are available, including carefully selected and important websites.
Includes current indexing and abstracts of the world's leading journals in political science. This database contains over 400,000 records from over 1,000 journals published from 1951 to the present. Content covered includes political science, political sociology, political psychology, international relations, international law, human rights, conflict studies, ethnic studies, and other related fields.
Indexing and abstracting for a collection of academic journals, books, periodicals, and newspapers covering ethnic and racial studies. Subjects include immigration studies, community relations, discrimination, cultural identity, and more.
Index and abstracts journals in religion and philosophy, Full text to over 290 journals provided. Covers topics such as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy, and the history of philosophy.
Database indexing over journals across 58 social sciences disciplines. Some items full-text. Includes cited reference searching, which allows the user to take one paper and find articles that cite the original paper. Also allows user to find all papers by one author.
Provides full text of journal articles, and indexing and informative abstracts for "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895, plus "priority" coverage journals and "selective" coverage journals. Extensive indexing for books, monographs, conference papers, and other sources is included. Subdisciplines of sociology covered include criminology and criminal justice, ethnic and racial studies, gender studies, rural and urban sociology, social psychology, sociological theory, substance abuse and other addictions, and more.
Covers the core disciplines in Women’s Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. Nearly 800 essential sources include journals, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, NGO studies, and grey literature.
