Skip to Main Content

Celebrating Ohio Book Awards & Authors Grant: Anisfield-Wolf

The Celebrating Ohio Book Awards & Authors (COBAA) LSTA grant program invites Ohio libraries to apply for grant funds for collection development. COBAA enables libraries to build or expand a collection of books by Ohio authors and books recognized by Ohio

About the Anisfield-Wolf award

Taken from the Anisfield-Wolf Book Award webpage

The Anisfield-Wolf Book Awards recognize books that have made important contributions to our understanding of racism and our appreciation of the rich diversity of human cultures.

For over 87 years, the distinguished books earning Anisfield-Wolf prizes have opened and challenged our minds. Cleveland poet and philanthropist Edith Anisfield Wolf established the book prizes in 1935, in honor of her father, John Anisfield, and husband, Eugene Wolf, to reflect her family’s passion for issues of social justice. Today it remains the only American book prize focusing on works that address racism and diversity. Past winners have presented the extraordinary art and culture of peoples around the world, explored human-rights violations, exposed the effects of racism on children, reflected on growing up biracial, and illuminated the dignity of people as they search for justice.

The Cleveland Foundation, the world’s first community foundation, has administered the Anisfield-Wolf prize since 1963. Before then, the Saturday Review sponsored the awards. From the early 1960s until 1996, internationally renowned anthropologist and author Ashley Montagu chaired the awards jury. That panel of globally prominent scholars and writers has since been overseen by Henry Louis Gates Jr., the acclaimed scholar, lecturer, social critic, writer, and editor

 Read more here

Award Winning Titles

Award Winning Titles