Research Guides: Emergency Medical Technology: Databases

Meet Your Librarian

Suzanne Johnson-Varney

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

940 Second Street
Portsmouth, OH 45662

740.351.3197

Subjects: Allied Health Sciences, Engineering Technologies, Nursing, Occupational Therapy, Sport Professions

Recommended Subject Databases

CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals and other sources from the disciplines of nursing and allied health, including nursing, biomedicine, consumer health, and more. Most available full text. Coverage from 1937 to the present. Includes health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters, and Evidence-Based Care Sheets.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window Contains Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, the leading resources for systematic reviews in healthcare, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, and Cochrane Clinical Answers. Designed to provide information and evidence to support decision-making in health care.
Discovery Service This link opens in a new window "Google like" search of most of the databases and resources the library has access to.This is also accessible as the default search box on the library’s homepage.
MEDLINE with Full Text (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window Provides full text for more than 1,370 journals indexed in MEDLINE. Contains many of the most used journals in the MEDLINE index - with no embargo. Full-text coverage dating back to 1965.
MeSH This link opens in a new window MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) is the NLM controlled vocabulary thesaurus used for indexing articles for PubMed [MEDLINE].
Nursing: Current Concepts and Practices Collection This link opens in a new window Collection of videos on nursing concepts and practices including pain management, patient care in the NICU, and a Clinical Skills Essentials Collection.
PubMed This link opens in a new window Provides free access to MEDLINE, the National Library of Medicine database of more than 11 million bibliographic citations and abstracts in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care systems, and preclinical sciences. Includes access to additional selected life sciences journals not in MEDLINE. Links to the full-text of articles at participating publishers web sites.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window Multidisciplinary citation index with a collection of over 21,000 peer-reviewed scholarly journals. Allows citation searching. This includes discovery of how many times a particular author or article has been cited and by whom. Users can also find later works which cite a specific article, allowing tracing the development of a research path.