Discovery Service can be a great place to start looking for sources!
"Google like" search of most of the databases and resources the library has access to.This is also accessible as the default search box on the library’s homepage.
Indexes art literature from 1929-1984, in the fine, decorative, and commercial art. Contains academic journals and other periodicals. Subjects covered include: advertising art, folk art, photography, and motion pictures.
Abstracts and indexing of peer-selected publications, including scholarly art journals and other periodicals, art dissertations, and art reproductions. Coverage of Latin American, Canadian, Asian and other non-Western art, new artists, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, and feminist criticism. Most items are available full-text, depending on artist and publication.
The Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) is the world's most comprehensive bibliography of scholarly writing about the history of western art. Contains records of books and over 1200 journals covering American and European visual arts. Coverage of publications is between 1975 and 2007. Full text not available.
Multidisciplinary database indexing over 1500 arts and humanities journals. Some items full-text. Includes cited reference searching, which allows the user to take one paper and find articles that cite the original paper. Also, allows user to find all papers by one author.
Provides indexing and abstracting of journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities. The database includes citations and abstracts for articles, essays and reviews, as well as original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations. Full text is available for many.
Multidisciplinary database with scholarly journals and primary sources such as serials and documents. Coverage from date of publication through about three to five years ago. Access to images is also provided which is especially helpful for students taking art and art history courses.
NOTE: Shawnee State University does not have full access to JSTOR. Limit by “Content I can access” in the left sidebar of the result list to see freely available sources.
Includes the full text of more than 7000 online research journals covering many subject areas
Content includes: Academic Press, 1993- ; American Chemical Society, 1996- ; American Institute of Physics,1997-; American Physical Society, 1985- ; Association for computing Machinery (ACM), 1991- ; Biomed Central, 1999/2000- ; BioOne, 2000- ; Blackwell Publishers, 1999- ; Blackwell Science, 1999- ; Cambridge University Press, 1999- ; Elsevier Science, 1995- ; Emerald, 1994- ; Institute of Physics, 1991- ; Kluwer Academic Publishers, 1996- ; Optical Society of America, 1999- ; Project MUSE, Johns Hopkins University Press, 1996/97- (some earlier to 1990-); Royal Society of Chemistry, 1997- ; SAGE, 2000- ; Springer-Verlag, 1996- ; Thieme Medical Publishers, 2000- ; and Wiley, 1997- .
