Research Guides: ENGL 1101, 1102, and 1105: Resources for Common Assignments

Library Resources for Specific Assignments

Some assignments are common in English composition classes. Here are three types of papers and resources you may find helpful.

Literary or Text Analysis

Gale EBooks
Database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Former title: Gale Virtual Reference Library.
Gale Literature Criticism
Literature, full text. Former title Literature Criticism Online.

Rhetorical Analysis

Credo Academic Core
Online reference library, providing access to the full text of hundreds of highly regarded and popular titles, full text. Please note: You may experience a "connection refused" error message. Refresh the browser and Credo will load correctly.

Also, utilize the library catalog for biographies or autobiographies of the speaker and books on the history of the bopic. You may also find Discovery Service useful for researching the history of the topic (e.g. What was being said about racism in America during the 1960s?).

Argumentative Essay

Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints
Covers current social issues. Former title Opposing Viewpoints.
Credo Academic Core
Online reference library, providing access to the full text of hundreds of highly regarded and popular titles, full text. Please note: You may experience a "connection refused" error message. Refresh the browser and Credo will load correctly.
Statista
Statista is one of the world’s largest statistics portals. Providing you with access to relevant data from over 18,000 sources, our focus is firmly based on professional, clear, quick and consistent results. Statista includes many Infographics.