Discovery Service can be a great place to start looking for sources!
"Google like" search of most of the databases and resources the library has access to.This is also accessible as the default search box on the library’s homepage.
Combines Women’s Studies International and Men’s Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses and dissertations, and other sources. Several thousand links to freely available and indexed full-text articles and documents on the Web are available, including carefully selected and important websites.
Provides scholarly and popular LGBTQ+ publications in full text, plus historically important primary sources, including monographs, magazines and newspapers. It also includes a specialized LGBTQ+ thesaurus containing thousands of terms.
Covers the core disciplines in Women’s Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. Nearly 800 essential sources include journals, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, NGO studies, and grey literature.
From prehistory to the present, this database covers history and culture of the United States and Canada. Researchers can limit their search by certain time periods. Many items available full-text.
Includes hundreds of full text journals and thousands of conference papers. Covers political topics including comparative government, ideology, international relations, partisanship, political theory, public administration, and systems of governance.
Indexing and abstracting for a collection of academic journals, books, periodicals, and newspapers covering ethnic and racial studies. Subjects include immigration studies, community relations, discrimination, cultural identity, and more.
Provides full text of journal articles, and indexing and informative abstracts for "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895, plus "priority" coverage journals and "selective" coverage journals. Extensive indexing for books, monographs, conference papers, and other sources is included. Subdisciplines of sociology covered include criminology and criminal justice, ethnic and racial studies, gender studies, rural and urban sociology, social psychology, sociological theory, substance abuse and other addictions, and more.
Database indexing over journals across 58 social sciences disciplines. Some items full-text. Includes cited reference searching, which allows the user to take one paper and find articles that cite the original paper. Also allows user to find all papers by one author.
Primarily scholarly journals, covering topics related to communications, such as discourse, linguistics, media studies, and rhetoric. Full text is available for many documents. Also includes some indexing of books and conference proceedings.
This link to the Literature Research Guide provides a list of resources too lengthy to list here.
Multidisciplinary database with scholarly journals and primary sources such as serials and documents. Coverage from date of publication through about three to five years ago. Access to images is also provided which is especially helpful for students taking art and art history courses.
NOTE: Shawnee State University does not have full access to JSTOR. Limit by “Content I can access” in the left sidebar of the result list to see freely available sources.
Indexes books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Coverage includes literature from all over the world. Folklore is represented by folk literature, music, art, rituals, and belief systems. Linguistics and language materials range from history and theory of linguistics, comparative linguistics, semantics, stylistics and syntax to translation. Other topics include literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts (film, radio, television, theater), and history of printing and publishing. Minimal full text availability.
Project MUSE promotes the creation and dissemination of essential humanities and social science resources through collaboration with libraries, publishers, and scholars worldwide.
