Research Guides: Business: Statistics &amp; Other Reference Resources

Meet Your Librarian

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

2nd Floor, Rm 266A

740-351-3461

Subjects: Business, English & Humanities, Fine Arts, Mathematics, Natural Sciences, Social Sciences, Teacher Education

Statistics

Business Statistics
Multidisciplinary

International

Eurostats A statistical unit of the EU whose mission "is to provide the European Union with a high-quality statistical information service." Data are collected from the National Statistics Institute, the enlarged European Union, candidate countries, and the EFTA. With access to publications, tables, graphs, maps, self-defined extractions, an alert system, and thousands of multidimensional databases
International Monetary Fund - International Financial Statistics Get financial information for most fund members (countries) and several more. Data provided includes the Consumer Price Index and External Trade.
The World Bank Data Sets The Data Catalog provides download access to over 7,000 indicators from World Bank data sets.
The World Bank - Global Findex Database Data Dashboard "The Global Findex Database provides almost 300 indicators on topics such as account ownership, payments, saving, credit, and financial resilience. Findex data is reported for all indicators by country, region, and income group. Data is also included summarized by gender, income (adults living in the richest 60% and poorest 40% of households), labor force participation (adults in and out of the workforce), age (young and older adults), and rural and urban residence." (from homepage)

United States

Annual Business Survey "The ABS collects data on research and development (for businesses with one to nine employees), innovation, technology, intellectual property, and business owner characteristics, with additional rotating content that changes from year to year." (from homepage)
Business Dynamics Statistics Explorer Explorer allows you to make sense of Business Dynamics Statistics (BDS). "BDS provides annual measures of business dynamics (such as job creation and destruction, establishment births and deaths, and firm startups and shutdowns) for the economy overall and aggregated by establishment and firm characteristics." (from homepage)
Census Bureau Index of Economic Activity United States Economic Indicators -- current data and trends.
Census.gov Topics: Business and Economy Economic data and reporting from the Census Bureau. Provides 13 subtopics including "Business and Owner Characteristics" and "Expenses and Expenditures."
Federal Reserve Economic Data (FRED) Economic data and information to promote economic education and enhance economic research.
Statistics of U.S. Businesses (SUSB) "Statistics of U.S. Businesses (SUSB) is an annual series that provides national and subnational data on the distribution of economic data by establishment industry & enterprise size. SUSB covers most of the country's economic activity. The series excludes data on nonemployer businesses, private households, railroads, agricultural production, and most government entities." (from homepage)
US Bureau of Labor Statistics The Bureau of Labor Statistics of the U.S. Department of Labor is the principal Federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy.

State and Local

County Business Patterns "CBP is an annual series that provides subnational economic data by industry. This series includes the number of establishments, employment during the week of March 12, first quarter payroll, and annual payroll." (from homepage)
DataOhio Data on many aspects of the state including employment, education, finance, and more. Includes not only datasets, but visualizations.
Data USA - Portsmouth, Ohio
Data USA - Scioto County

Sage Data
Datasets cover a wide range of subjects – including business, finance, banking, economics, sociology, political science, demography, agriculture, education, international studies, criminal justice, housing and construction, labor and employment, energy resources and industries, and more. Sources include public, private/commercial, and nongovernmental organizations, as well as Woods & Poole Economics, Inc.
FedStats
Provided by the US Census Bureau. Quick and easy access to basic statistics about the United States by country, state, county, city, town, or zip code. User can select to see the data in table, map, or chart formats.

US Census Bureau -- Explore Census Data
The U.S. Census Bureau offers statistics and data on business trends, population, industries, income, and other useful topics.

Mometrix eLibrary

Mometrix eLibrary is a test preparation tool, with study strategies, practice tests, and flashcards.

Of interest to Business students are the GMAT and the CPA exam.

Mometrix eLibrary
Mometrix eLibrary is a comprehensive test preparation tool, offering study materials for over 1,500 different exams, covering a broad range of subject areas. Examples of test include: OAE, GRE, NCLEX, LSAT, GMAT, MCAT, medical technology certifications, and computer technology certifications. Exam materials are arranged by subject. If you know the name of your exam, you may search for it using the search box on the homepage. Preparation tools include study guides and flashcards.

Other Reference Resources

Bizminer
Provides searchable industry financial profiles, industry market profiles, and company profiles. User can filter by the size of companies and market area. Reports contain many granular data.
Credo Academic Core
Multidisciplinary online reference library, providing access to the full text of hundreds of highly regarded and popular titles, including handbooks, encyclopedias, dictionaries and more.
Please note: You may experience a "connection refused" error message. Refresh the browser and Credo will load correctly.
HeinOnline
HeinOnline has more than 120 million pages of legal history available in an online, fully-searchable, image-based format. HeinOnline also contains the Congressional Record Bound volumes in entirety, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, famous world trials dating back to the early 1700’s, legal classics from the 16th to the 20th centuries, the United Nations and League of Nations Treaty Series, all United States treaties, the Federal Register from inception in 1936, the CFR from inception in 1938, and much more.
Sage Complete 2020 Business Cases Collection
Digital collection of business cases providing faculty, students and researchers with unlimited access to thousands of authoritative cases from over 100 countries. The collection spans a wide range of business and management disciplines from leadership and entrepreneurship, to family business and women in leadership. The platform allows for easy browsing, downloads, and sharing, and most cases include teaching notes and discussion questions to ensure effective classroom use.
World Factbook
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.