Phone: (740) 351- 3255
Text: (740) 313-4333
Email: ssulibrary@shawnee.edu
Contains many works of poetry, drama, and prose, based on books and other sources originally published in print. Collections include: 20th Century African American Poetry Collection; 20th Century American Poetry Collection; 20th Century English Poetry Collection; African American Poetry 1700-1900 Collection; American Poetry 1600-1900 Collection; Bible in English; Bibliography of American Literature; Early American Fiction 1774-1850; Editions and Adaptations of Shakespeare; Eighteenth-Century Fiction 1700-1800; English Poetry 600-1900 Collection; English Prose Drama 1280-1915; English Verse Drama 13-19th Centuries; W.B. Yeats Collections.
Contains 12,000 poems by more than 100 African-American poets, including Audre Lorde, Langston Hughes, Rita Dove, and emerging poets. Biographical profiles accompany each poet’s work.
Contains 52,000 poems from collected works and individual volumes of poetry covering the works of most major twentieth-century American poets. Includes works beginning with the traditionalists; continuing through the modernists, represented by such poets as Wallace Stevens; and moving on to the contemporary works of the 1990s.
Contains over 44,000 poems by 288 poets, incorporating the Modern Poetry Collection and The Faber Poetry Library. The complete text of each poem is included, and any integral images are also scanned. Introductions and prefaces to the volumes are included, as are all notes and any prose sections.
Full-text of almost 3000 poems written by African-Americans in the late eighteenth and nineteenth centuries. Includes allegories, broadsides, children's poems, elegiac poems, epics, hymns, odes, patriotic poems, and sonnets.
Collection of 1,200 books and anthologies of early American poetry. Provides access to 40,000 poems of American writers from the 17th to the early 20th century. This database contains the works of all major American poets, including Emily Dickinson, Henry Wadsworth Longfellow, Phillis Wheatley, Walt Whitman, and John Greenleaf Whittier. It also covers many less-familiar names.
Contains the full text of over 175,000 poems by over 1,400 poets from the British Commonwealth and ex-colonial countries, between the years 600 and 1900.
Searches English Poetry 600-1900, African-American Poetry 1760-1900, American Poetry Database 1600-1900, 20th Century African-American Poetry, 20th Century American Poetry, and 20th Century English Poetry.
Contains the complete text of more than 700 plays from over 300 dramatists of American dramatic literature.
Contains English Prose Drama, English Verse Drama, and American Drama eBook collections. Coverage from 1515 to the present. Almost 3,000 books available through the Electronic Book Center. Organized in alphabetical order, but has a search function, as well.
Based on plays listed in the New Cambridge Bibliography of English Literature that were written or intended for the stage and wholly or primarily in prose. EPD contains more than 1,800 plays by approximately 400 authors from the Renaissance to the end of the nineteenth century. Early, and where appropriate, collected editions are generally selected.
Contains the full text of more than 2,200 works of poetry intended for the stage by over 500 named authors and over 300 anonymous works, from the Shrewsbury Fragments of the late thirteenth century, through the Elizabethan and Jacobean periods, to the end of the nineteenth century.
Contains full text of 440 first-edition American novels and short stories by 80 American writers written 1774-1850 by authors of significance during their lifetimes. Listed in alphabetical order.
Collection of 18th century fictional literature by British Authors, 1700-1780. Available full text.
Includes the complete text of eleven major editions of Shakespeare’s works, from the First Folio (1623) to the Cambridge edition of 1863-66. It also includes twenty-four separate contemporary printings of individual plays, selected apocrypha and related works, and more than 100 adaptations, sequels, and burlesques from the seventeenth, eighteenth, and nineteenth centuries.
