"A primary source is a document or physical object which was written or created during the time under study. These sources were present during an experience or time period and offer an inside view of a particular event."
From prehistory to the present, this database covers history and culture of the United States and Canada. Researchers can limit their search by certain time periods. Many items available full-text.
The Morgan Bibliography of Ohio Imprints, 1796-1850: Describes books, pamphlets, and broadsides printed in Ohio, from the earliest in 1796 through 1850. Includes names of libraries that own copies of these historical materials to aid in locating originals.
The Ohio Name Index, 1796-1850: Includes over 156,000 names of Ohio people, businesses and institutions whose names appear in the books, pamphlets and broadsides printed in Ohio from 1796 through 1850, and are listed in the Morgan Bibliography of Ohio Imprints, 1796-1850.
The Student Name Database, 1800-1900: Contains 1,015,499 entries of students, teachers, and trustees whose names appear in the catalogues of the American Antiquarian Society's School and College Collection.
Search and browse early Ohio newspapers from 1801-1877. Geographic locations of newspapers include larger cities like Cleveland and Cincinnati, as well as smaller locations such as Chillicothe and Wooster.
Contains correspondence, notes, manuscripts, student papers, maps, and photographs related to the Underground Railroad. Also, includes books; diaries; newspaper articles; biographies and memoirs; state, county, and local histories; annual reports; trial records; U.S. and Canadian census reports; legislation; and Congressional speeches.
